748 full rebuild

Discussion in 'Builds & Projects' started by wwk, Nov 21, 2013.

1. Over winter Ive decided to rebiuld my '98 748 - my track bike. It already has 2001 engine so there is not that many electric isues like with engines with small alternator.
    Ive started some work month ago or sth like that. Most of things I want to do by myself just because I like.

First engine out of frame
    w5ds.jpg

engine splitted
    w19q.jpg

Ceramic coatings on pistons and valves
    95zx.jpg
    atld.jpg

Broken rocker arms
    0m4y.jpg
    and fix (before polishing)
    915v.jpg

More over I want to put DLC on rockerarms and cams - should be more realiable. MBP collets will be also installed, all bearings will be new, including big end bearings.
    I also powder coated frame, swingarm and wheels. More soon...

w5ds.jpg

w19q.jpg

95zx.jpg

atld.jpg

0m4y.jpg

915v.jpg

• Like Like x 2
  2. Nice work; I am no engineering expert but do you need to re-profile the valve seats or guides to allow for the Ceramic coating? what about the cylinders? are they being re-honed to match the Pistons?

Out of interest, why Ceramic coating and not fitting some aftermarket pistons with balanced crank given that it is for track use?

3. Yes I need to reprofile valve seats, will try to do this next week. Guides will stay as they are. Pistons are exactly same diameter as before. Only area where they touch barrels is where piston rings are and this stay stock. I dont want to change bottom of the engine bacause that would increase costs. I already have one ducati where all engine was rebiuld (increased capacity, hi comp, big valves, balanced crank etc) and that was really expensive, especially for my wife ;)

I have serviced front forks yesterday.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Taking it apart is easy. :upyeah:

Putting it back together is a little harder... :frown: