1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coolant? Leak from exhaust manifold

Discussion in 'Multistrada' started by Reformedrebel, Jul 13, 2013.

1. Hi, hope someone can help me, I just purchased a mivv decat system and set aside this afternoon for some tinkering time, I took the belly pan off to discover what smells like coolant leaking from the exhaust manifold! I'm no mechanic but I know that's not a good thing!

luckily the bike is under warranty and seastars have been great, offered to get the bike in on Monday morning and a loan bike if needed.

Really hoping someone can tell me it's something else as I'm supposed to be taking the bike on a trip to the lakes on Tuesday! Any ideas??

2. Best to get it checked out. It may be coolant from a leaking head gasket or a porous head casting but is more likely leakage from the hose from the water pump where it joins to the front cylinder. May just need the hose clamp tightening.

3. Here's hoping, not looking good though, no signs of leakage any higher up

image.jpg

Dont know why the photo is sideways either!

image.jpg

#3 Reformedrebel, Jul 13, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2013
  4. Without wishing to be a doomsayer. The multis had a recall to change the coolant due to the old stuff causing corrosion and damaging the head sealant, lets hope yours is a simple case of something needing tightening.

5. Those are the symptoms mine had - have the exhaust bolts gone really rusty? New heads all round is my guess?

6. Yeah it's a bit of a mess, how long did you have to wait for the job to be done? Glad it happened this year whilst under warranty!

7. Ah well, mine was off the road for 6 months almost exactly.

However, back in January, they didn't have the parts and 4.5 months went by just waiting. I believe the supply problem has gone, but I wouldn't be surprised if once diagnosed, it was a 3-4 week turnaround?