1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Belt Servicing - How Often?

Discussion in 'Sport Touring' started by rjt_berlin, Apr 16, 2016.

1. Hi,

Looking at a bike that had its belts done two years and 5k miles ago. Does this mean these are due now or is the schedule every three years?

I am no mechanic and would need this doing so if this is needed now i may have to rethink the purchase of the bike

Appreciate any comments

Thanks

2. Service schedule generally calls for two years or a mileage (probably 6k) but you could get away with more, however I would want to check the belts before running longer and on a bike of 'unknown' service history I would change them anyway.

What bike is it? as I would be more inclined to let a 2v go longer between belt changes than a 4v due to the way the belt tensioning pulleys fit...

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. The service manual is every 2 years - I think it depends on how long the belts have been sat in the same position.

I do mine myself so cost isn't an issue, but the belts are quite tough - the bearings had seized on the tensioners first time I changed the belts on my ST3, the belts looked OK except the back was very shiny. But it would be costly if a belt snapped or came off a pulley so I wouldn't risk going beyond 2 years.

• Like Like x 2
  4. I need some new belts for the ST3S I've just bought. I can see you have the belts TB1100 do you have a link for the bearings?

5. Hi M1icy, I haven't done bearing kits for your model yet - I think you need 6 bearings for your model? They should be SKF with a part number stamped on them - the centre 2 are not available from Ducati without buying the pulley wheels as well but are probably the same as the outer bearings.