1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Forums

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by Fire3500, Oct 13, 2015.

1. They've always been a bit of a cauldron, but on the whole I've been enjoying car and bike forums for about 20 years now. You can learn a lot and chat about obscure things with similarly engrossed individuals.

I first noticed the rot was outweighing the good stuff about 5-6 years ago and started backing off particular forums as "the scene" took on an air that I didn't feel I wanted to share but slowly and surely they've pretty much all succumbed to a sort of aggressive mob-rule.

Is this me being over sensitive or have online forums got worse than they used to be? It might just be me getting old and grumpy...

• Like Like x 1
  2. [​IMG]

• Funny Funny x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. nope, it's the old familiarity breads contempt thing.

• Agree Agree x 1
  4. Other than the hat, that's about it.

• Funny Funny x 1
  5. Whaddya mean finm?

6. lets say for the sake of argument an isis thread got posted, a sensitive topic to start with, views will get expressed many you might not agree with. but you will participate, then maybe one or two will respond with belittling comments, maybe someone you have interacted with before maybe not, maybe they will hit a nerve, maybe intentionally maybe not, the natural thing is to respond, the clever or wise chose not to. people start getting angry, more people will be less inclined to contribute. and so the rot continues. some will call it cliquey (i hate that word) because you appear to gel with some but not with others you become less inclined to contribute because you cant be assed with the hassle, slowly but surly the otherwise easy going leave , leaving you with the opinionated my way or the high way types to peck over the corpse of a long forgotten forum.

• Agree Agree x 1
  7. Oh no it doesn't

• Funny Funny x 3
  8. oh yes it does.