1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

M600 Engine Rattle?

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by venners, Feb 11, 2017.

1. Hi all I've bought a Monster 600 In great condition although it has a horendous rattle noise like someone inside the engine with a little hammer going tap tap tap?
    I've read that it could be piston slap but it sounds more tinny than slap has anyone got any ideas?

2. Maybe the big but has come off. It's wet clutch so can't be that ;)

They do sound a bit like s tractor naturally tho

3. Thanks bradders it sounds like a vavle or maybe tappets it seems to run ok though. I have heard that they are noisey runners but this sounds wrong to me but then again I'm new to Ducs so maybe it's normal!

4. I had a 600 monster with a rattle that sounded as you describe it was piston slap

5. It could be a case of 'they all do that sir' if you're new to the wonderful world of ducati...

Having said that though, take a ride to your nearest dealer of indie and let them have a listen for you... That will either confirm there is something requiring attention or put your mind at ease.

6. Thanks Ben that is of course a good idea however my 'local' dealer is about 80 miles away to make that trip I need to trust the bike and as of now I don't but thats because I'm new to it.

7. In that's case then, it may be worth trying to track down another owner quite local to you that could maybe have a listen for you. I'm sure there will be someone on here willing to help :)

Another option is post a video and put a link to it on here and some more familiar with the M600 may be able to help further.

• Like Like x 1
  8. You could try videoing it and sharing? Someone who knows their stuff may be able to give an opinion:upyeah:

• Agree Agree x 1
  9. Another good idea Ben I'll go and record it now!

10. I can't post the noise the website doesn't recognise the file extension :triumph: