1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Member 1199 ,hi To All. Rear Shock Bolt Broke!?

Discussion in 'Newbies Hangout' started by Chops, Aug 6, 2016.

1. IMG_20160516_193401416.jpg IMG_20160516_201241064.jpg Hi,I'm in LEEDS. New member
    Got myself an 1199 2013 MY in February 2016
    Story is, a few weeks ago, rear shock front bolt broke! Managed to pull up OK.
    Rear Footrests saved me from biinning the bike as left side landed on swingarm supporting rear end just above rear tyre! FB_IMG_1470288963370.jpg View attachment 73933
    Any one else had or heard of similar problem?
    Ducati are thinking it's been over torqued by previous owner!?Nonsense I say.I reckon the bolt cannot take the impact without an additional bracket,
    Sato Racing make a support bracket that Duke should consider retro fitting under recall.
    I am a BMW MOTORRAD TECHNICIAN btw.This isn't something BMW would have taken lightly.
    Any help getting this raised to a possible Recall/ High Priority Inspection status would be appreciated.
    Regards Ian.

IMG_20160516_201229166_HDR.jpg

#1 Chops, Aug 6, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2016
  2. Where did you buy it from Dave? And welcome btw :)

3. Hi,It's Chops (Ian) btw.
    Shorrocks Preston,used bike dealer.

4. Never seen/heard of this issue yet to be honest and it was common I'm sure a recall would have happened by now.

5. That's KAK IF you consider what might have happened :Writing: see what I did there - I think the bolt needs analysing. It bolts into Alloy does it? I'd be surprised if over torqueing caused it if so.
    Welcome anyhoo from down the road in York :)

#6 Exige, Aug 6, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 6, 2016
  6. Who's Ian, Dave?

7. The support bracket looks like a good idea, two things that surprise me is that A) they seem to be the only people making them, B) they are gold and £100!