1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

999 Quit Clutch Mod (again- Sorry)

Discussion in '749 / 999' started by postmaster, Nov 8, 2016.

1. Now I have never worked on a clutch before and it seems the more I look into it the more confused I get. My bike is apart for a winter deep clean and I've taken the clutch plates out.
    It looks like the plates are steel and the basket alloy - is this normal?
    The friction material looks very thin to my untrained eye but measures 2.9mm total thickness so I'm guessing that's ok? Total stack is 38mm.
    The basket is a bit notched but nowhere near as bad as some I,ve seen.
    So to do the mod all I have to do is swop the first steel for a worn friction. Have I got it?
    right?
    If I'm right does anyone have an old friction I could buy?
    I know @oldrider is a keen advocate of this and I would really appreciate your input.
    Thanks

• Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. No, it's not normal to have an alloy basket and steel friction plates as they will cut into the softer alloy. However, it is normal to have steel plain plates - are those what you are referring to ?
    The friction material is very thin from new and will last a long time. If the stack is 38mm, this suggests the plates are fine.
    The conventional theory used to be that you needed to add a friction plate at the bottom and leave the rest alone. However, I have become convinced that this is not necessary and it's not what I have in my own stack now. All you need to do is re-order your existing plates with a friction plate at the bottom and make sure you basically alternate friction and plain plates. You can have two plain plates paired together but it's not normal to pair friction plates.