1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

916 Sps Purchase Advice

Discussion in '748 / 916 / 996 / 998' started by chrispyduck, Feb 2, 2016.

1. Hello. I am new to Ducati ownership and have always longed for a 916. My chance has come to purchase an SPS. I have contacted Ducati in Bologna and checked out its authenticity however i was after some general advice here.
    It has 13400 miles with a few honest chips and scuffs but nothing serious, i would describe as excellent but used. Could do with a deep clean and good polish and replace a few tarnished fastenings. So i am looking to pay £9k. Does this represent good value for a limited bike as i haven't seen one before, i am told they are going up in value but i guess that depends on the starting point.
    Any comments are welcome.
    Many thanks

2. You should buy my 998 with only 7887 miles up at £6650 pics on the forum

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. NO you should leave it well alone:Stop:.... and then send me the exact details of who is selling it...;) :Watching: :Wideyed:

4. Buy it. :)

5. If it's the shape that attracts you, you will be better with the 998 for a bike to use - and it will also go up in value just as well (and it's a good price too). You need to revise the SPS's as the later ones weren't as special as the earlier ones for trick parts I think. The SPS sounds a reasonable price at 9k dependant on condition and history / no of owners / UK spec bike and not an import and a few other things :)

6. If it stacks up and the right history, buy it. Proper real classic.

7. Couple of things that are inconsistent:
    The mirrors are red and the front fairing is white above the headlights up to screen, the same as a Foggy rep. Manchester Ducati tell me these inconsistencies are normal. Does it matter ???

8. It wouldn't be to me, but that's because I'd paint them red and have a number board fitted anyway.