1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unusual Noise From Bike

Discussion in 'Ducati General Discussion' started by Not Carl Fogarty, Mar 17, 2017.

1. Did not put this in the 998 section because it maybe something that has occurred on other Ducatis.

I'm no newbie on the spanners but Ducati (dry clutch/belt are new to me) maybe someone has an idea before I start looking into it, this noise....

When out for a reasonable duration on the 998, bike ran fine but towards to end of the ride.
    I pulled out, lent to the right and as I engaged the clutch and wound it on. I heard a noise similar to clutch thrust bearing on a car, it went very quickly.

I was a little parnoid, I could feel something similar to seizing. Concerned I spun a bearing of something I pulled over straight away. The motor was ticking over perfect and never dropped revs etc. So was not nipping up. It was not making any odd noises. It did not sound internal.

I carried on and the bike was fine. Until I stopped and pulled away from the lights sharpish
    (I wanted to see if was going to happen) same again. I did think it was maybe the weight on a wheel bearing while leaning, or oil starvation, as it was lent over the first time.

The second time it was not leaning. I thought I could perhaps feel it though the forks. I pulled over, wheel spindle had not moved, front wheel felt free, discs were cool.

It did feel like it was front end related or clutch... could be my imagination.
    I pulled away more cautiously, no noise. No noise the rest of the way home, when in traffic etc..

It was quite loud and I would have guessed it was a bearing, rotating metal noise initially.

Not sure if dry clutch can make that kind of noise. I'm thinking if it was belt/bearing related it would have got worse. I don't know how the belt system works yet... not owned the bike long enough to need to do work to it.