1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

749 Which 749r 2004 Or 2005 ?

Discussion in '749 / 999' started by Chris B, Feb 7, 2017.

1. Hi Everyone,

I have been offered here in NZ a choice of either a Ducati 749r 2004 with carbon fairings in good to excellentl condition with 39,000km on board, or a 2005 ducati 749r in excellent condition non carbon fairing with 18,000km.

Neither have a service history and both look identical...and original.

Which one to buy as a future investment...Heart tells me to buy the 2004 Carbon model but 39000km is high...or is it ?

Sensibility tells me to buy the 2005 with less km and a bit better nick.

Do they tell me to buy both !!!

The 2004 is cheaper than the 2005.

I can do any mechanical / engine work myself if needed, but neither would be ridden much at all anyway, if at all.

Help !! What a choice...

2. I'd go 2005 and then buy carbon fairings but I'm no expert

• Like Like x 1
  3. Unless the 2004 is a lot cheaper I would buy the 2005

4. buy em both !

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  5. 2004 would be my choice

• Agree Agree x 3
  6. The two bikes should not look identical. The 2004 model with have 4 vents in the nose cone around the projector headlights and the 2005 should have only 2. If they are identical the 2005 registered bike is a pre face lift model, in which case buy the 2004 carbon fairing bike. The carbon bike is the more sought after in the UK and there are not many of them. Some minor revisions were done to the later year models but nothing significant. 39000km is not high mileage if regularly maintained. It's down to asthetics really, both pre and post face lift bikes have their champions but for me if I could only have one, it would be the 2004 carbon model. Good luck with whatever you choose and enjoy. Andy

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Neither bike has any service history, so high mileage could be a problem.