Considering Purchasing A Paso

Discussion in 'Ducati Paso' started by tiktokrick, Nov 12, 2022.

1. Hi all!

I'm fairly new to Ducati's (owned a 1200S MTS previously), I'm now looking at buying a Paso after seeing one in Cheshire a few years ago. It looked and sounded great!

I'm reasonably competent with maintenance, but wouldn't be looking to do the belts or anything like that myself.

I don't have a strong opinion between the 750 and the 900 models, but I haven't really dug into this yet.

What pointers or advice about buying / owning would people be willing to share please?

2. Not for a Ducati purist, derided by some as it didn’t have tubular exposed frame.

I owned one back in the day a 750 only thing that ever let down was the rectifier in 2-3 years of riding. Great Mile muncher fuel gauge is a lying piece of junk, tyres choice would be an issue if you buy the original 16 inch wheels version I should guess by now. Ensure you do lock the tailpiece in position as if you don’t it’ll be an impossible replacement now I should think. Please don’t ask me how I know………..

The well nuts are a pain up the ass if they’ve been overtightened, the Weber carbs are a pain apparently but I had no issue with mine on the 750. You may find it may have had a carb swap as that appears to have been a popular mod. The 904 were both carbed and injected, for me I’d go carbed version……

If I were to consider one now I’d want the side bodywork off to see what lurks beneath, that fully enclosed fairing can hide so much. I seem to recall the mirrors fall off in contact with other objects as they’re push fit but I may be mis remembering (30 years ago now). However they were the best mirrors for position in all my days of biking.

Oh yes and you’ll need a sense of humour when out as the amount of jokers who’ll tell you you’ve painted your screen is fkn endless.

There was a Paso in my local ish dealer at a surprisingly realistic price for him.

Good luck in your hunt……