Diy Rear Ohlins Rebuild?

Discussion in 'Suspension help' started by pawelgawel, Sep 27, 2022.

1. has anyone attempted a DIY on the rear shocks? I know the TTX is complex but the basic ones off 1098 for example, is there a DIY for this that I could attempt?

2. I used to rebuild dampers for a living. The basic Öhlins is quite easy to do as far as dampers go but you do need a few special tools like a nitrogen filling rig with a hypodermic needle, a friction ratchet with a suitable insert to undo the body to name but 2. The biggest problem is a lack of a Dyno. Even the best damper technician can't be certain a damper is working correctly without checking it on a Dyno.
    I made some videos rebuilding a showa which is very similar to a Öhlins. If you search showa damper you should find a thread with some links. The videos are quite long but perhaps helpful to you. I think the thread may have been made a sticky in the tech section. You can buy Oil and parts of BG bearings at Silverstone.

What is it you're trying to achieve?
    I still have access to a Dyno and could potentially do it for you at a reasonable cost and make another video at the same time. Just a thought.

• Like Like x 4
    • Like Like x 3
  3. Thank you! I watched a youtube video someone made in California, and I can understand what you mean with the couple issues id have. Im replacing my showa with Ohlins on my SF and I though of refreshing it before it goes in. technically I haven't received it yet, its on its way, but the last owner said it may need one to be safe. I won't know exactly the shape its in till I have it. If its dry, I probably wont touch it.

• Disagree Disagree x 1
  4. and thank you for the generous offer, I would definitely consider it, but since Im in Canada, the shipping itself won't make it reasonable. I found a shop locally here that does the service for $250CND, I might just have to go with them.