First Ducati Advice 899 Or 959 Panigale?

Discussion in 'Newbies Hangout' started by Stu__grant, Apr 27, 2020.

1. Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the forum, I'm also still pretty new to motorcycles. Ive been riding for a year and a half on a BMW R1200 GS.

The BMW is a very capable bike but I almost feel a bit disconnected from the experience. I really fancy trying something exciting and would be interested to know how people get on with the 899 & 959 Panigale's?

Is it too much bike after a year and half of riding?

What are they like to live with?

Any expensive problems to be aware of?

It would be interesting to hear your thoughts.

Also interested to hear from anyone thinking about selling either of these bikes when we get out of lockdown.

Hope you're all staying safe and well.

Cheers

Stu

• Like Like x 1
  2. Welcome Stu - plenty on here have owned both so you should get opinions between the two. If you feel confident enough then no issue jumping onto one of these, the throttle goes both ways :):upyeah:

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. I had an 899 for a little while and did a fair few miles on it.

never skipped a beat.

The 899 and 959 are very similar bikes.

4. Hey Stu!

Welcome.....

My first Ducati was 899 Panigale, i loved the design and purchased the bike solely on its looks.

I came from Jap bikes so it took some time to get used to the Ducati V-Twin etc but what a machine they are. Low down torque is good but when you really open it up it gets going very quickly.

things to consider with the 899:

It has no laquer on the paint & i had a few issues with marks & spots that needed wet sanding & machine polishing.

They get very hot because of the exhaust under the tail unit, horrible when stationary.

The riding position is quite heavy on the wrists.

Its a small bike, im 5.11 so not bad for me but if your taller you might want to consider this.

This bike is made for the twisties, around town riding isn't great.