Multistrada V4s For A Total Novice?

Discussion in 'Newbies Hangout' started by JoeTouring, Apr 5, 2024.

1. I'm new to motorcycling, having just done my A license and been pootling on a 125cc for around 4 months. I'm a sensible risk averse middle aged rider and OK with the weight of a bigger bike like the SV650 I'm learning on compared to my 125cc.

I would like specifically something for touring as I would like to do weekends away. My car has adaptive cruise and blind spot etc - I was an early adopter of this tech 10 years ago and it has really helped with safety and fatigue over the years - a game changer IMO. I'd really like a bike with these rider aids.

So enough rambling, I'm asking opinions from experienced riders:

1. Is it heavy to manoeuvre in and out of a mild incline driveway compared to something like an SV650?
    2. Is the adaptive system on it reliable and when re-accelerating after a a lane change etc?
    3. Anything else I should be aware of as a newb?
    Thanks in advance for any opinions / experience!

#1 JoeTouring, Apr 5, 2024
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2024
  2. 1. Multi V4 is tougher than most to wheel around due to high bars. Getting on the centre stand is super easy
    2. Works well IMHO
    3. I feel some fuelling issues with slight hesitation now and again. Very very difficult to clean, some bolts and nuts corrode. Many of them are made of standard Ducati steel plasticine alloy.
    Maybe look at the smaller 900? Multi ?? it’s quite the leap you are making..then if you have the money to spend and maintain it, what the hell

• Agree Agree x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1