1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pressure Req For Spraying Clear Coat

Discussion in 'Detailing and cleaning' started by Noods, Nov 5, 2015.

1. Hi All

I'm trying to spray a2K gloss clear coat at a ratio of 2 parts clear and 1 part hardener plus a slash of thinners.. I've a 3hp comp with water trap fitted and a brand new 1.2 mm movac spray gun with movac supplied 2k clear coat..

I'm guessing it's a temperature or press prob but I'm getting like a misfire as I spray and some bubbles in the cup .. So the finish is blotchy.. I've no heat on in my workshop at mo but can have if required.. In other words my workshop is the same temp as outdoors.. (Today not cold but rainy) Not sure what pressure to use either.. I've used panel wipe to prepare surface etc and a tack rag.. Any ideas please..

2. I'm no expert but I think it depends massively on gun type , but I run 45 - 50 psi , temp also important usually try to get my work area upto 70deg,

3. Post removed as I was drunk last night. :Muted:

#3 Cream_Revenge, Nov 6, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2015
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Face Palm Face Palm x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  4. I can't understand why you would get bubbles in the cup. Is it a gravity fed gun (cup above the air cap) or a suction fed gun (pot below the gun)?

It may be a material supply problem. Check the vent on top of the cup / pot isn't blocked. This works like a breather on your fuel tank. If blocked the material would have poor flow or would spit.

5. Several things to consider here. Is it MS or HS (medium or high solid) as far as the lacquer goes. I used HS in a 1.4 tipped touch up suction gun recently without any problems at all to spray some wheels and that was outside a few weeks ago.